Paso Robles AVA changes approved

Washington D.C.—The Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) announced it is publishing a final rule establishing 11 new American Viticultural Areas within the existing Paso Robles AVA area in San Luis Obispo County, California. The 11 new viticultural areas are: Adelaida District, Creston District, El Pomar District, Paso Robles Estrella District, Paso Robles Geneseo District, Paso Robles Highlands District, Paso Robles Willow Creek District, San Juan Creek, San Miguel District, Santa Margarita Ranch, and Templeton Gap District. The 11 AVAs are the result of a petition submitted by a group of growers and vintners in the area. See the Oct. 1, 2013 Wines & Vines report “Paso Winegrowers Back on TTB Track” by contributing editor Jane Firstenfeld for more details.

See full article »
Copyright © Wines & Vines